Hollywood Forever my friend Johnny, Dee Dee Ramone and Mr. Hollywood.

I woke up early in the morning very excited for my next destination. I was very close to Hollywood Forever Cemetery, I always wanted to visit the The Ramones, for those who don’t know, Dee Dee and Johnny are both buried there and they’re one of my all time favorite bands. So I quickly made my way to Hollywood, I needed to make one quick stop though to the bathroom.

I went into a Wallgreens suddenly I see from far away a drawing of Danny Trejo, I remember I said “No way he has a coffee and donut shop!” I wanted coffee so it was the perfect moment to grab one.

Made it to Trejos and the coffee was actually pretty good but I didn’t have his donuts. The place was small but it was still interesting regardless too see everything Trejo. I left quickly but still snapped some pictures.

I made my way to Hollywood forever where I quickly found Johnny Ramone, I kept saying “Johnny thanks for keeping the band together” the statue was amazing and very detailed too.

All of a sudden I noticed a guy sitting down alone, I figure he was there for Johnny as I approach to see if Dee Dee was there this is how I met Mr. Hollywood.

Me: “Do you know where I can find Dee Dee?”

Mr. Hollywood : “Go straight where the palm tree is at and you will see him right away you can’t miss him”

Me : “thanks man, are you here for Johnny? ”

Hollywood: “Nope” (he points at the ground at Chris Cornells grave )

Me: “Oh fuck ! He’s here too?! I didn’t even know”

Hollywood : “Yup, I come here everyday and just sit and relax with Chris, I live a block away”

Me : “I’m here for the Ramones, I’m not from the area so this is my first time here”

Hollywood : “welcome then, the universe brought you here for a reason, this is the second time im sitting here and a random person starts talking to me, so what’s going ?”

Me: “I’m getting away from life at the moment, going through a divorce so I’m distracting myself. I loved this woman a lot man and I feel I gave her everything but sometimes I forgot about myself and to love myself, I said I need to start living instead of crying you know”

Hollywood : “Beautiful message man, you’ll be ok man. Look, I lost the love of my life too, she died in a crash”

Me : “oh sorry to hear that man.

Hollywood: “Its only been a year but look now I’m fine and the universe wanted me to give you this message.”

I was weirded out considering I’ve been talking about the universe lately.

Hollywood : “Look at least your kids and wife are still alive. You’ll be ok man just keep doing what you’re doing, hope isn’t lost just yet”

Me: “thanks man that gives me a lot of hope”

We talked for a while and he told me about him wanting to move closer to the ocean and told me where to go for more awesome experiences. He was a director and writer and musician and his dream was to make movies but that life was tough at the moment.

He was from new Zealand he said he had recently gotten his green card so it was a struggle. He really believed in the universe that’s for sure…he said he needed to go, I told him about my blog and asked him if it was cool if I posted about him and he said “Sure” so I took a pic with him and he said “Good luck man you’ll be ok” And that’s how I met Mr Hollywood which I won’t reveal his real name.

I kept walking towards the palm tree, I really wanted to visit Dee Dee.

Finally, I found Dee Dee and the moment was magical.

I sat there next to a bench feeling very peaceful and I won’t lie I started talking to the grave…I got very emotional and pretty teary, I don’t know if was due to my situation or because he really is one of my heroes, I told Dee Dee thanks for his music while drinking coffee.

I was really talking and didn’t care if people thought I was crazy. I saw a little whisky bottle on his grave and decided to go back to my car grab a beer and drink in his honor. So, I snuck it back in drank it and left it on his grave. I kept saying thanks man, sat there for a good 20 minutes just reflecting on life. He’s music really changed my life and inspired me so much.

I kept starring at the gravesite, then looked everywhere just thinking “We are all going there eventually” i said goodbye to Dee Dee got up and said thanks one more time….i passed one more time to say farewell to the Ramones, one of the bands that saved my life…ironically I felt so alive and so at peace but also started accepting myself more and my life….i was less afraid

Like Wayne Coyne once said

Do you realize that everyone you know someday will die? Yes, I realize that. I hope Mr. Hollywood makes his movies soon and as for me ? I’m on my way to my next destination and I hope the universe brings more rewards my way. For now, I’ll listen to the Ramones in my car and honor one of the best punk bands of all time HEY HO! LET’S GO! spread the Illness.

Leave a comment